you are still valued and respected

charles outreach accept

DJ Mac directs us to an interview with a English recovering harm reduction advocate, Kevin Jaffray.

He shares a little of his own experience of fighting and, eventually, entering recovery. [emphasis mine]

Speaking as someone who came into abstinence kicking and screaming – thankfully with my health intact – after a number of chaotic years in addiction, I have to say with my hand on my heart that I would not have got this far if I had not spent a number of years being educated around the risks of my chosen lifestyle and gently guided through the years of chaos with a non-judgemental and non-enforced guiding hand of harm reduction. Those who reached out to me during that time carried me through some of the most destructive years of my life and kept me safe when no one else took the time to care. So being alive and healthy is actually quite a significant positive outcome in my opinion.

meet them where they are atMy own personal experience is how I became involved in carrying a message that there is a way out should you choose to take it and if not, you are still a valued and respected member of the community who deserves to be treated the same as every other member of that community, if not with more respect and due attention.

I’m struck by the repeated references to change and care. He repeatedly asserts that the goal is change and how critical care was for him. He doesn’t reference and harm reduction services, but keeps coming back to care.

It’s interesting, when he talks about his experience of the harms of addiction, he’s not just talking about infections, diseases or near-death experiences–he talks about living with addiction.

The years I spent living with addiction and all its related issues, as did my family and everyone who came close to me over the years. Addiction is not an isolated issue and its ripple effect can be as far reaching as it is deep.

There are those among us who can use safely and those who can remain recreational users. I take my hat off to them and have a, some might say controversial but, very real respect for them and an underlying jealousy if I’m honest. I was not one of them and the result was years of unadulterated chaos everywhere I went. Years of feeling like I did not belong anywhere, years of searching for connection, and years of battling stigma and isolation.

The feelings I lived with for those years were almost debilitating and I became trapped in a cycle of addiction where the pain of being was overwhelming and the substances dulled the pain of being, not a nice experience in any way, shape or form. Don’t get me wrong, I had some amazing times on substances but the effect it was having on my loved ones and significant others eventually added to the pain and became part of the downward spiral. I ended up alone and destitute.

All the needles, safe injection rooms and naloxone in the world won’t reduce those harms–but human connection and recovery can. I’m sure there are interventions I could not join him in, but there is a lot of common ground here to build from. Reading his experience and reflecting on Dawn Farm’s work makes me proud that we offer safe, compassionate, nonjudgmental recovery-oriented care.

His suggestions for people who want to help?

Support your local mutual aid groups; if there aren’t any, think about starting one up. Join online forums and add your voice to the already existing campaigns. Run events in your area. Get out there in your community and talk to people, find out what’s missing. Look for the deficits and fill them. Your community can always be improved. Asset map your community, don’t try and reinvent the wheel, just build more spokes from what is already there.

 

 

Comments Off on you are still valued and respected

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.